top of page

Homie with Coke Dreams

So, the homie had Coke Dreams from a young age, not sure if he was influenced by the media and movies, or if it was a family trait. Certainly not, because I knew his parents and they were not the type to be accepting of that, both of his parents seemed successful, surely they were divorced because the homie stayed with his mom. Mom was a single mother of 2, and Pops was involved in the music industry and was successful in the field.

We became friends in class, way back in the day. We instantly became friends due to our love for the sport of Football (soccer) and video games. I was already playing on the high school Team, and the homie had just transferred from a different school, and was looking to get into the Team, and he inquired with me on how to get in, so I let him know about it. Turns out the homie was actually my downstairs neighbor at the apartments we lived at, at the time. I didn't know because I hardly ever rode the bus due to my schedule with school.

Time went on we became closer friends, played together on the same Club team for a bit, I usually gave the homie rides to practice and games, because we lived in the same spot and played on the same team so it was mutually cool, plus we shared alot of the same interests. Next season came on and the homie transferred again to a different state, at this time we were both in high school. We maintained contact throughout the years. Then senior year in High School the homie hit me up to come spend SB at my place and I said you're more than welcome to. He came down, we caught up and had a good time.

Then He asked me to come visit him at his Spot, I was at the end of my Career in HS, it was summer time, so I was like "Yeah sure, let me go see how it is where you stay." I hadn't really decided in which university to attend and things weren't really going anywhere where I was at the time. So I went down to visit the Homie at his mom's spot, stayed for a week, Fell in love with the area and the university that was close by, and within a couple of weeks I made the proper arrangements to move to the area. His mother was like a second mother to me, so she said I could stay with them until I got a place.

It didn't take me too long to find a place and luckily the place was vacant for 2 rooms, so I invited the homie to move out of his mom's place and stay at the other room, which he was hesitant at first but then him and his mother talked and decided that it would be good for him. So we got the spot and moved in, started living, attending school, working. The homie helped me alot at times driving me to work and stuff. But of course it was a dead end job for him, not making enough money, barely scrapping by and just over all dealing with other people's bullshit.

Understandably, as portrayed selling coke is what will make you successful and rich, Idk if that's true but that's what it is made out to be, so naturally the homie fell for that mentality and kept Dreaming of Selling Coke to get out of the situation he was currently in. At time we would talk and he would tell me man we "'should sell coke" that's where the money is at, and I would tell him "Yeah, sure." Anyway few opportunities came by where he would be chilling and people would come up to him and ask if he had coke and he would always come back and tell me about it and I would tell him or think to myself "that's your opportunity to sell it and get the life you want" But I think that deeply down inside he knew that wasn't the life he wanted and he never acted upon that, at least to my knowledge.

Time went on, I got a better job at a restaurant, bussing tables and being an assistant server. The homie was still working a shitty job, then I put him on to the place where I was working at and that's when the opportunity for him to do better financially sprouted and I guess he kind of got out of that mindset of selling coke. He started doing better for himself and taking better care of himself, but we drifted apart, to the point where we lost all communication. We lived at the same spot and when the time came to renew the lease, we weren't really talking anymore, so I just returned the keys to the place and moved back home.

Anyways, the years went on, the homie and I haven't spoken since, but I have seen on social media he's doing good. The homie finished college, graduated and got his degree and seems to be doing well. We still haven't spoken to this day. Not sure if he ever fulfilled his Coke Dreams but

the dream of graduating College definitely was fulfilled and I'm proud of the homie for not falling for that life and going on to do better things.


Best regards!

Leo Silva.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 this website supports HLS Services LLC.  Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page